Select Page
SAKAI PLANNING PROCESS

Minutes/Documents:

Minutes for the first public meeting held on 1-23-16
Minutes for the second public meeting held on 4-23-16
Letter regarding process as of 05-16-16
Summary of public process as of 05-16-16
Minutes for the third public meeting held on 7-16-16
Letter from Bob Linz with Community’s List of Recommended Uses

8-18-16 Board Meeting presentation schedule and presentations and /or handouts when available:

6:05p     Public Survey – link to results

6:20p     Create A Table – handout

6:35p     Multi-Use, Multi-Age Community Center – link to presentation & handout

7-21-16 Board Meeting presentation schedule and presentations and /or handouts when available:

6:00 PM:

6:45 PM:

7:00 PM:

Information Generated at 1-23-16 Meeting

Work Groups

Please email Helen Stone, at helen@biparks.org if there are any typos or incorrect e-mail addresses in the below information. For any other questions or concerns please contact Lori Quick-Mejia, at lorim@biparks.org.

1. Prioritize Projects

First select small projects that can be done quickly with little expense or with existing Park District staff or equipment.

Click here to see a preliminary 1-28-16 look at what the study group came up with to “prioritize” the Sakai proposals received at the big meeting-NOT by value or popularity or expense, but only by complexity.

Click here to see a 2-6-16 version of what the study group came up with to “prioritize” the Sakai proposals received at the big meeting-NOT by value or popularity or expense, but only by complexity.

Conveners

  • Paul Benton, bentonpf@plu.edu, 206-780-5594
  • Scott Strickland, beltapponw@aol.com, 206-755-5297

Members

  • Bill Merz, merzbill@gmail.com, 206-780-5721
  • Liz Powell, lizpowell165@comcast.net
  • Ed Cannard, ecannard54@mail.com, 206-909-5258
  • Teresa Hermosillo, teresaherm@aol.com, 206-317-6996
  • Robyn Teske, robynteske@gmail.com, 206-780-6719
2. Public Survey

1) Randomly sample public to find out what uses they would like to see in our newest park. 2) Find out levels of community support for various uses. 3) Survey demand 4) Find out the greatest need as decided by the people of Bainbridge Island… 5) Survey to the community by needs then prioritize by number 6) Evaluate the ideas. Which was the most value to the community? 7) Help design a user survey.

Click here for a link to the survey RESULTS.

Conveners

None indicated.

Members

  • Leslie Hansen, lesliejhansen@gmail.com, 206-290-1819
  • Charles Wallace, cwallace38@gmail.com, 206-290-1819
  • Cornie Talley, cornietalley@hotmail.com, 206-321-4796 (c), 206-842-1856 (h)
  • Anson Brooks, ansonbrooks@me.com, 206-276-3978
  • Joyce Rubio, joycemrubio@yahoo.com, 206-418-8618
  • Brenda Berry, bberrygreen@gmail.com, 206-780-8878
  • Julie Riely, jriely@realestatesolve.com, 206-855-0632
3. Demographics

Determine the percentage of Bainbridge Island population the proposed concepts will impact.

Click here to see a document developed by this group.

Conveners

None indicated.

Members

  • Jo Vanderlee and Rick Robertson, loon3103@hotmail.com, 206-618-8916, 206-718-8230
  • Gordon Black, gordonblack1984@gmail.com, 206-225-8534
  • Kelly Muldrow, kelly@muldrow.net
  • Ron Piland, ron@piland.org, 206-510-0055
  • John Benjes, jbenjes@hotmail.com, 206-913-7484
4. Youth Sports Interest

A meeting of various youth sports interests to discuss the needs and volume of participation.

Click here to see a PDF version of the presentation created by the youth sports interest group.

Conveners

None indicated.

Members

  • Joanna Leinaweaver, familypermaculture@gmail.com, 206-498-7774
  • Orville Johnson, capnorv@aol.com, 360-259-4056
  • George Soltes, gsoltes@icloud.com, 713-724-0787
  • Lisa Camacho, lisacamacho@hotmail.com, 206-715-4092
5. Create a Table

Create a table with all the uses and specifications/requirements to determine what is feasible and what is not.

Click here to see their work.

Conveners

None indicated.

Members

  • Wendy McAbee, wenbenbee@gmail.com, 206-347-6081
  • Marsha Cutting, mcutting@gmail.com, 518-312-9088
  • Luni Libes, lunarmobiscuit@yahoo.com, 206-550-7109
6. School District and Park District Collaboration

Get the School District and Park District together to unite development to preserve open space.

Conveners

None indicated.

Members

  • Michael Loverich, mikeylove@bittertang.com, 310-904-2039
7. Park Values

Cull down the list of values to the top three values for the park.

Click here for a document regarding values (click here for a format with a larger font size). They have met as a group and culled down the 400 or so values to 40 categories, which then got grouped into the top 6 overall values for consideration.

Click here to see the values presentation document.

Conveners

  • Megan Nielsen Hegstad, mnielsenhegstad@porticogroup.com, 206-330-1538

Members

  • Mary Lou and Ken Teske, mlteske@comcast.net, 206-451-4230, 949-439-1698
8. Multi-use, Multi-age Community Center

Research for a multi-age community center with a teen center, senior center, gymnastic gym and Park offices.

Click here to see their proposal.

Photos of current BIMPRD offices.

Photos from field trips.

Photos of Gymnastics room.

Photos of Teen Center.

Conveners

None indicated.

Members

  • Cindy McCall, lulu98110@gmail.com, 360-328-0024
  • Phyllis Rimel, primel@bainbridge.net, 206-780-2108
  • Mary Lou Teske, mlteske@comcast.ne, 206-451-4230
  • Lee Robinson, leerob9672@gmail.com, 206-842-0774
  • George Miller, 206-718-6234
  • Becky Shell, beckyshell26@gmail.com, 206-718-6234
9. Adventure Playground

Determine how many parents are interested in creating an unstructured open play area.

Click here to take a survey developed by the Sakai planning group interested in an Adventure Playground.

Conveners

  • Kevin Mills, 3dpoet@gmail.com

Members

  • Anne Laird, aynabet@msn.com, 206-842-0151
  • Megan Nielsen Hegstad, mnielsenhegstad@porticogroup.com, 206-330-1538
10. Financial Feasibility

Assign cost to each use.

  • Click here to see a draft Internet review of costs for non-building type uses for the Sakai Property. All vendors listed are for cost analysis only.
  • Click here to see a draft Internet review of costs for building type uses for the Sakai Property. All vendors listed are for cost analysis only.
  • Click here to see a 3-3-16 response regarding Petanque courts.
  • Click here for Doug Rauh’s comments about a Mountain Bike Pump Track.
  • Click here for a 3-25-16 Financial Feasibility group meeting summary

Conveners

None indicated.

Members

  • Susan Wood, got2boys@hotmail.com, 206-384-0481
  • Doug Rauh, rauh01@msn.com, 206-842-7046

Click here to see a class project about the Sakai property by a Bainbridge Island school group.